Rochester Teachers Association and Air Force Chapter 308 have joined “forces” to recognize up to 2 classroom teachers for their accomplishments and achievements in exciting K-12 students about science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). 

Any RTA Representative or building Administrator may submit a maximum of two nominations per building.  Each nomination must be submitted on a separate form and include the reason(s) why that teacher should be considered.

In order to be considered for this award, please send the completed nomination form, a letter of recommendation from the person nominating the teacher, and a letter of recommendation from the school administrator to RTA c/o Aimee Rinere, 30 N. Union St., Suite 301, Rochester, NY 14607.  You may also email the packet to or fax to 546-4123.

A joint committee will review all applications received by April 20, 2018.  Winner(s)will be recognized at the June 2018 RTA Representative Assembly meeting.  Winner(s) will receive a check for $250.00, a Certificate of Excellence, an AFA pad-folio, Chapter Teacher of the Year pin, and a complimentary Civil Air Patrol Aerospace Education membership sponsored by the Civil Air Patrol.

Please help in recognizing your colleagues who are preparing our students to use and contribute to tomorrow’s technologies. 

Click below for:

Nomination form

Air Force information letter teachers and administrators

Former Winners of “Teacher of the Year” Award from AFA & RTA:

2012                Peter Mastrogovanni              #8

2013                Martha O’Duffy                       #9

2014                Logan Newman                      East High

2016                Peter Mastrogovanni              #3

                        Vici Patanella                          #3

                        Tina Rodger                            #3

2017                Logan Newman                      East High

2018                Apply so you can be the next “Teacher of the Year”